WPI Hackers of the '70's

dec10 logo

"Back in the days of wooden computers and iron programmers..."
-Professor Norman Sondak

I want to have email addresses and Web page links to the hackers of WPI from the '70's, the golden age of WPI hacking (at least I like to think so). I only want links to folks who were at WPI between 1974 and 1978 (a span of about 10 years, really). Someday the list below may be replaced by the WPI Hackers of the 70's Yahoo group, which lets people modify their own contact info, has chat threads, photo albums, and other fun.

So you say that the logo isn't the right color? I scanned it right from my decsystem10 assembly language handbook, second edition, 1972, that I bought off Marc Ramsey for $5 way back when. You might prefer the KL color scheme, but when I was at WPI, we had the KA, so I'm sticking with the colors of the good old assembler handbook, which in those days, we all did associate with the 10.

If you send me your PPN, I'll add it in.

WPI Alumni can get alum.wpi.edu email addresses from the WPI Alumni Gateway. You can put up a web page there, and even get WPI to serve up your secondary DNS. The WPI Alum Gateway rocks, aej is my hero, he should be yours too.

Please send additions and corrections to trb shift-2 alum.wpi.edu .

Do not send unsolicited mail to people on this list.

Due to an unfortunate incident of spam which can be traced to this list, I have removed the mailto: lines and the @'s too, in order to make it harder for miscreants to find or use these addresses. Sorry for any inconveniences that this has caused.

Addresses prefixed with a ?question-mark were not valid as of September 2004, if you have updates, please let me know.

  1. Al (Nova) Corda - acorda shift-2 relay.nswwc.navy.mil
  2. Al Johannesen [10,13] - aej shift-2 wpi.edu (web)
  3. Alan C. (ABrown, ACB) Brown [1000,7141] - browna shift-2 cna.org
  4. Alan Turniansky [1000,15117] - ?p018501b shift-2 pb.seflin.org
  5. Amancio Hasty - amanciohasty shift-2 comcast.com
  6. Ami Kaplan - ?amib shift-2 iname.com
  7. Amy Sue Chase - amysue1 shift-2 aol.com
  8. Andy (Tribble) Tannenbaum [1000,15074] - trb shift-2 alum.wpi.edu (web)
  9. Ann-Marie Robinson - ?ann-marie.robinson shift-2 sun.com
  10. Ben Thompson - brt shift-2 wpi.edu
  11. Bill Heberling - wheberling shift-2 alum.wpi.edu (web)
  12. Bill Sherman [1000,27010] - bgs shift-2 alum.wpi.edu
  13. Bill Wright - bwright shift-2 wrightsoft.com (web)
  14. Bob (RJA) Avarbock [1000,17053] - rjavarbock shift-2 comcast.net
  15. Bob Sherburne - ?rws shift-2 engr.sgi.com
  16. Bruce MacWilliam - ?bmacwill shift-2 shore.net
  17. C. James Cook - jimcook shift-2 aol.com
  18. Carl Gerstle - cgerstle shift-2 yahoo.com
  19. Carl Zwanzig [1000,32645] - ?zbang shift-2 tuunq.net (web)
  20. Chris Johnson - cjohnson shift-2 tiac.net
  21. Chris Mellgren - chris shift-2 mellgren.org
  22. Craig (Ear) Laub - cblaub shift-2 comcast.net
  23. Dave (Wookie) Bilkis [1000,25611] - wook shift-2 cinenet.net (web)
  24. Dave (Spaceman) Cairns - ?dave.cairns shift-2 mro.mts.dec.com
  25. Dave (Captain) Edgerton [1000,12134] - dave shift-2 edc.com
  26. Dave Galvin - dwgalvin shift-2 wpi.edu
  27. Dave Lounsbury - ?davel shift-2 osf.org (web)
  28. Dave Lyons - ?racerdave shift-2 net1plus.com
  29. Dave Roland - dsr shift-2 sohonet.net (web)
  30. David B. Kinder - dbkinder1 shift-2 msn.com
  31. David (DDA) D'Antonio [1000,17265] - dda shift-2 dantonio.net
  32. David (Grony) Emerson - david.emerson shift-2 clarent.com
  33. David Fox [1000,22727] - fox shift-2 alum.wpi.edu
  34. David Gewirtz - david shift-2 component-net.com
  35. David T. Wolff - dwolff shift-2 panix.com (web)
  36. David (DWass) Wasser - dwass shift-2 dwass.org (web)
  37. Dennis Laliberte - dpl shift-2 metrocast.net
  38. Diane Nakashian - ?nakashian.diane shift-2 adlittle.com
  39. Doug Knowles - dougknowles shift-2 alum.wpi.edu
  40. Don Mastrovito [1000,7672] - don shift-2 papercat.com
  41. Ed Menard - emenard shift-2 alum.wpi.edu
  42. Ed Prentice - egp shift-2 alum.wpi.edu
  43. Eric Hahn [1000,25610][10,46] - eric shift-2 hahnfamily.com (web)
  44. Frank Ries - frank shift-2 fwrnet.com
  45. Fred Fisher - ?fred_fisher shift-2 ag3d.com
  46. Gary Davis - ?gdavis shift-2 loop.com
  47. Gary (Abe) Helmstetter [1000,7464] - gh shift-2 world.std.com (web)
  48. Geoff Matter - ?gmatter shift-2 aurum.com
  49. Geoff (Jeremy) White - l0r3zz shift-2 gmail.com (web)
  50. George Dainis [1000,17263] - gad shift-2 dainis.com (web)
  51. George Kaczowka - gsk shift-2 oldradios.com (web)
  52. George Hill - ahr shift-2 austinhill.com (web)
  53. Glenn Corwin [1000,22554] - glenncorwin shift-2 yahoo.com (web)
  54. Greg Scragg - scragg shift-2 cs.geneseo.edu (web)
  55. Gregory A. (Eh, GAS) Scott RIP [1000,12675][10,33] - greg shift-2 scott.com (web)
  56. Gregory (G, GVW) Walsh [1000,10271][10,27] - gvw shift-2 pacbell.net
  57. Harley Privitera [1000,5455][10,26] - jhp shift-2 pobox.com (web)
  58. Howie Dickerman - howied shift-2 microsoft.com
  59. James Lane [1000,4255] - james~~lane shift-2 alum.wpi.edu
  60. Jeff Deutsch [1000,22256] - jeff shift-2 deutsch.com (web)
  61. Jeff (Whisler) Gunter [1000,14352] - jeffgunter shift-2 usa.net
  62. Jeff Semmel - jsemmel shift-2 alum.wpi.edu (web)
  63. Jill Fabricant Meier [1000,22241] - jill shift-2 insulators.info (web)
  64. Jim Cahill - jim shift-2 snowyacres.com
  65. Jim Jackson - jjackson shift-2 wpi.edu
  66. Jim McCollum - ?jimmc shift-2 mogul.ultranet.com
  67. Jim (Junior Hacker) Mickol [1000,12477] [10,50] - info shift-2 sevideo.biz
  68. Jim Reith [1000,20161] - reith shift-2 racores.com (web)
  69. John Comeau - jc shift-2 unternet.net (web)
  70. John (JDR) DeRosa [1000,17302] - johnderosa shift-2 me.com (web)
  71. John Griffin [1000,26265] - jgriffin_iii shift-2 hotmail.com
  72. John R. Grout [1000,25613] - j.grout shift-2 computer.org
  73. John M. (JMK) Kennedy [1000,23162][10,45] - kennedyj shift-2 bluewin.ch (web)
  74. John Major - jmajor shift-2 alum.wpi.edu
  75. John McGee - perfectfields shift-2 gmail.com (web)
  76. John Saunders [1000,20221] - john.saunders shift-2 surfcontrol.com
  77. Jon Montague - ?montague shift-2 star.enet.dec.com
  78. Karen Wright - ?kwright shift-2 xenergy.com
  79. Kent (Buck Rogers) Multer - kent shift-2 dallas.net (web)
  80. Kim Mains - kim shift-2 mains.com (web)
  81. Laurie Trask Mann - ?lmann shift-2 city-net.com (web)
  82. Len (Tex, a co-star) Goldberg - len_goldberg shift-2 alum.wpi.edu
  83. Leslie Greenfield Lathrop - leslie shift-2 cognivis.com
  84. Linda McInnis - lindamc shift-2 world.std.com
  85. Marc (TGR) Ramsey [1000,6735] - marc shift-2 ranlog.com (web)
  86. Mark Hecker [1000,17512] - mbh shift-2 charter.net
  87. Mark Pankoski [1000,23472] - mark shift-2 pankoski.com
  88. Matt Ward - matt shift-2 cs.wpi.edu (web)
  89. Megan (Marty) Gentry [1000,14321] - mbg shift-2 world.std.com (web)
  90. Michael (Boom Boom) Butler - mgb shift-2 mitre.org
  91. Michael D. (MDL) Lyons [1000,7646] - mdl shift-2 alum.wpi.edu
  92. Mike Jacobi - ?srubin shift-2 intellution.com
  93. Mike Kenniston [1000,14452] - msk shift-2 xnet.com (web)
  94. Neal P. Murphy [1000,26573] - neal.p.murphy shift-2 alum.wpi.edu
  95. Norman Sondak - norman.sondak shift-2 sdsu.edu
  96. Patrick Harvey - patrickharvey shift-2 cox.net (web)
  97. Paul (PC) Cantrell - paul shift-2 copters.com (web)
  98. Ralph Chapman - ralph.chapman shift-2 lucent.com
  99. Randy Blanchard [1000,17124] - blancha2 shift-2 earthlink.net (web)
  100. Ric Haskins - ?haskins shift-2 star.enet.dec.com
  101. Rich Holmes - rsh_wpi shift-2 richholmes.net (web)
  102. Richard P. (RPM) Murray [10,30] - rpm shift-2 alum.wpi.edu
  103. Richard Rupp [10,35] - rrupp shift-2 doar.com
  104. Rick Sysko - wyrm shift-2 madriver.com
  105. Rita Tillson Vasak - rvasak shift-2 houston.rr.com
  106. Robert Milk - robertmilk shift-2 inbox.com
  107. Robert Rouse - robert_k_rouse99 shift-2 yahoo.com
  108. Roger A. Donahue - roger shift-2 wpi.edu
  109. Ron (RTFH) Howard [10,55] - ronh shift-2 ntercept.com (web)
  110. Rory O'Connor - rory_oconnor shift-2 ziffdavis.com
  111. Rose St. Martin Reith [1000,20272] - rreith shift-2 racores.com
  112. Scott McKay - ?swm shift-2 harlequin.com
  113. Scott Saftler - ssaftler shift-2 bsla.com
  114. Scott Shurr - sshurr shift-2 gmail.com (web)
  115. Sharon Donahue - sdonahue shift-2 wpi.edu
  116. Stephen Uitti [1000,27111] - suitti shift-2 uitti.net (web)
  117. Steve Alpert - sra shift-2 idx.com
  118. Steve (Cleve) Gregory - usoatsng shift-2 ibmmail.com
  119. Steve Kovner - skovner shift-2 world.std.com
  120. Steve Wolfe [1000,13615] - smw shift-2 world.std.com
  121. Thomas DeBellis [1000,25622] - ?thomas.debellis shift-2 citicorp.com
  122. Tom Fawcett - tom.fawcett shift-2 alum.wpi.edu
  123. Tony Camas - tony shift-2 bosauto.com (web)
  124. Tracy Taylor - tracy_taylor shift-2 bigfoot.com
  125. Wayne Noss - [1000,12533] zkrih shift-2 twelvetribes.com
  126. Wayne Pryor - wpryor shift-2 speakeasy.com
  127. William Ure - [1000,25620] williamure shift-2 hotmail.com
In the Summer of 1997, the WPI Journal alumni magazine wrote a couple of cool feature articles on AEJ and the Golden Age of Hacking at WPI.

Do you remember...

The WACCC hackers still gather together every Wednesday night for WACCC Night at some watering hole in the WPI area. To get on the WACCC Night mailing list, mail to waccc-night-request@wpi.edu (an AEJ alias). If you're dropping in on a WACCC Night from out of town, you might want to mail here too.

Andrew Tannenbaum
trb shift-2 alum.wpi.edu
Brookline, MA, USA